Simplify Your Life: 100 Ways To Slow Down And Enjoy The Things That Matter – For The College Student #7

Hi! So, if you have read my “about me”, then you would know that I am a college student, starting my second year this fall majoring in dietetics! At the beginning of this year, I made a resolution to myself to be more minimalistic, natural, simplistic, and healthy. So far, I seem to be meeting these goals and have wanted to share my journey with others to hopefully inspire and motivate people to do the same!

Anyways, I just finished reading this book I picked up at Book Exchange when I was at Virginia Beach a few weeks ago. The author, Elaine St. James, provides tips and solutions on how to live a more simplistic life. While every tip is extraordinarily helpful, only a few applied to me, currently being a college student. I decided to pick out 10 of the ones I have tried and experienced and thought they would benefit others as well!

#7 Learn Yoga

This is by far my favorite suggestion out of all of them. Yoga by its self, or in combination with some form of meditation will for sure help create a simpler, well balanced, stress free lifestyle.

Yoga does not discriminate. It is for all sizes, genders, and ages. Some benefits of yoga include strengthening, firming, and shaping the body as well as silencing the mind (my fave). There are numerous ways to do yoga whether it is in the comfort of your own home watching a YouTube video, at a local fitness center, yoga studio, or at your university’s recreational center like I do. I love yoga so much, even though I’m not that great at it. I’m taking it as a college class this semester as a way to force myself to stay stress and worry free.

In my opinion, I would suggest taking a yoga class where you will be able to meet people and potentially make some friends who will be motivating and beneficial in your simplistic lifestyle journey. Taking a class can also just be a way for you to have that alone time with yourself and get you out of the house or dorm room for a while. But, if you do not want to take that leap for whatever reason, I would recommend Yoga With Adriene on YouTube (link down below). She has a beginners yoga series which is composed of 31 days/31 videos, yoga for weight loss, yoga for healing, 10-15 min. videos, 20-25 min. videos, what ever you want to start off with!

You will feel so much calmer, more limber and be ready to tackle the world…I promise. Try it out and let me know how it goes!

Yoga With Adriene: https://www.youtube.com/user/yogawithadriene

May peace, joy, love, and gratitude be with you always.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

